Left Drowning – Book Review

Image

I loved this book.

Jessica Park’s ability to write interesting and deep characters is one that I’ve been finding hard to come by lately. Especially in the contemporary genre. Many authors now get stuck in overly descriptive, explicit sex scenes with no substance to their characters.

Blythe was not just a one dimensional college girl with an obsession over a guy. Her pain, guilt, and hurt were easily felt and it made me connect with her almost instantly. Sabin was a lovable teddy bear of a first friend and the entire Shepard crew grabbed me from their entrance to the story. I could easily see what they all went through as something totally realistic and tragic and Christopher was right up at the top of the list of guys who think they aren’t deserving of love but who are deserving of it the most.

I was slightly bothered by the swearing and the sex scenes were explicit but also real and in the end I didn’t mind reading them. The story was so much more than sex.

4 stars Ms. Park, well done!

**This review also appears on my Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

