Allegiant – Book Review

Let’s see. I’m not sure where to begin. And I am going to put spoilers in here so stop reading now.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth Book 3 in the Divergent Series

Spoilers ahead… Major spoilers.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
STOP if you don’t want to know.

This doesn’t summarize the series so I apologize. I didn’t start blogging until this book.

allegiant-by-veronica-roth

I was expecting something horrible because I have seen too many reviews that say there are no spoilers but really there were because saying you’re “crushed” “devestated” “sobbing” “pissed” or wishing death on Veronica Roth well, that may as well be a spoiler. But I was wrong in my expecations… sort of.

A friend and I were discussing how sad/angry we’d be if Tobias died and then it occured to me that shit, she’s switching POVs and it’s completely possible that Tris could end up dead.

The thing is, this book isn’t romance just as The Hunger Games was not romance. So when I got to the Weapons Locker with her and Caleb and she started working out in her mind that Caleb’s sacrifice wasn’t about love, it was about guilt, I knew. I thought this girl is about to make the ultimate sacrifice for the ones she loves. And not just her mom, dad, Caleb, and Tobias but everyone, Uriah, Christina, Cara, Zeke, Matthew… all of them.

I sobbed my freaking eyes out, ugly, make up running, booger dripping, crying. But I kept reading through the end and once I got there I couldn’t be angry. I was sort of relieved. I was, am, heartbroken for Tobias but at the same time, it felt right to me. I’m not sure giving Tris & Tobias some fairytale ending when they weren’t in a fairytale would have felt genuine. At all.

** Edited to Add…

And here I am the next day still thinking about it and I can’t help but feel as though this was the only way the story could end. And I have to give Veronica Roth some major bonus points for originality. I don’t think I’ve read a book where the main character dies. Kudos. My heart is still broken for Tobias however, I think of the two he was the one who could survive it.

***This review also appears on my Goodreads page.

Leave a Reply

